The Team

The research team of the Centre is staffed by members of the teaching and research staff of the Department of Social Work, by visiting Postdoctoral Researchers, by PhD candidates as well as by research partners / visiting professors. At the same time, the research and administrative work of the laboratory is enriched by the contribution of an international advisory team (International Advisory Board) consisting of experienced researchers / internationally recognized.

The research methodology of the laboratory is governed by interdisciplinarity, falls within the wide range of Social Sciences and concerns the individual fields of application of Social Work, Social Policy, Psychosocial Interventions, Sociology and Social Research.

The Centre aspires to offer a stable and rich program of events, conferences, workshops and activities that aim to create a vibrant environment for both those who work in it and the general public.

Internal Members

Vasilis Ioakimidis
Professor / Director of the Centre
Eleni Papouli
Assistant Professor / Founding Member
Dimitra-Dora Teloni
Assistant Professor / Founding Member
Maria Douka
Lecturer / Founding Member
Ioannis Koumpouros
Associate Professor
Dimos Pantazis
Styliani Papamichail
Assistant Professor
Panagiotis Douros
Research Fellow
Nancy Papathanasiou
Adjunct Academic Staff
Dimitra Giannou
Adjunct Academic Staff
Alexia Stouraiti
Doctoral Researcher
Giorgos Rallis
Doctoral Researcher
Dimitra Papadopoulou
Doctoral Researcher
Georgia Efstathiadou
Doctoral Researcher

International Advisory Committee

Gary Bailey
Simmons College / Harvard University
Angelique Mavrodaris
Cambridge University / Public Health England
Mashura Akilova
Columbia University
Allan Barsky
Florida Atlantic University
Athanasios Spyridakos
Dean, School of Administrative, Economics and Social Sciences, UNIWA

Research Fellows

Vassilis Tsianos
Professor / Fachhochschule Kiel University of Applied Sciences, Germany
Guy Shennan
Guy Shennan Associates
Maria Theodoropoulou
President / Roots Research Center NGO
Dimitris Dalakoglou
Professor / Vrije University Amsterdam
Nikos Trimikliniotis
Professor / University of Nicosia, Cyprus
Fotini Varvaresou
Social Worker / Municipality of Korydallos, Greece
Dimitris Karelas
former General Secretary, Ministry of Social Solidarity and Labour
Konstantinos Balasis
Head of IT Dpt. / Municipality of Korydallos, Greece
Δρ Panagiotis Pentaris
University of Greenwich, UK
Dr. Hara Kouki
Assistant Professor / University of Crete, Dpt. of Sociology
Dr Georgios Bithymitris
National Center of Social Research, Greece
Thodoris Nikolaou
Documentary Photographer
Dr Pinar Zubaroglu-Ioannides
University of Fordam / Hope for Children
Reima Maglajilic
Associate Professor / University of Sussex
Constantine Eliopoulos
Liverpool John Moores University
Dr Gregory Neocleous
Assıstant Professor / University of Nicosia, Cyprus
Charalambos Poulopoulos
Professor / Democritus University of Thrace